Madden Makes History Winning USEF Equestrian of the Year Title for Fourth Time

Show jumper Beezie Madden made history as the first athlete ever to win the coveted USEF Equestrian of the Year title four times.

To close out a year of milestones, Beezie Madden (Cazenovia, N.Y.) was awarded the Robert P. Strub Trophy as the 2014 USEF Equestrian of the Year at the USEF Pegasus Awards Dinner. In the process the jumping superstar again made history as the first athlete to ever earn the coveted title four times.

2014 USEF Equestrian of the Year -Beezie Madden (

The 2005, 2006, and 2013 Equestrian of the Year extended her legacy in 2014 with a remarkable campaign that saw her collect victories throughout North America and Europe. Her season began with multiple top placings at the FTI Consulting Winter Equestrian Festival before claiming her third American Invitational title in Miami and a win in the Gran Premio Veracruz at CSIO4* Coapexpan. In May, Madden suffered a broken collarbone that forced her out of the saddle, but the steely veteran returned on remarkable form, helping the U.S. to Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup victories at CSIO5*s Hickstead and Dublin. In addition to producing a double-clear in Hickstead’s Nation Cup, she made history two days later as the first women to ever win the The Longines King George V Gold Cup. Madden closed out the summer by anchoring the Hermès U.S. Show Jumping Team to Team Bronze at the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games, where she also added Individual Bronze to her medal haul. Her season concluded with strong performances jumping at indoors, including scoring a remarkable win in the CP World Cup Qualifier at the National Horse Show.

Nine equestrians were recognized for their competitive achievements in 2014 and honored with the following trophies:

Becky Grand Hart Trophy – Diane Kastama
Norman K. Dunn Trophy – Howard Peet
C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy – Mary Gaylord McLean and Jacques Van Niekerk
Barbara Worth Oakford Trophy – Bruce Griffin
Bill Robison Trophy – Gareth Selwood
Vaughan Smith Trophy – Larry Hoffman
William C. Steinkraus Trophy – Beezie Madden
Emerson Burr Trophy – Liza Boyd

To learn more about the 2014 USEF Equestrians of Honor, click here.

Additionally, Judy Werner, who has played an influential role in the American Saddlebred industry for decades, was honored for her devotion to equestrian sport as the Lifetime Achievement Award winner with the Jimmy A Williams Trophy. Watch a video honoring Werner that was played at the USEF Pegasus Awards Dinner here.

Para-Equestrian Sydney Collier received the Ruth O’Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy as 2014 Junior Equestrian of the Year for her honor, courage, dedication, and sportsmanship.

The following equestrians were also honored for their service to the sport with many of the most prestigious awards bestowed annually:

Honor Roll of Distinguished Officials Award – Gary Baker, Fern Bittner, Joe Darby, Mindy Darst, Walter Distler, Meredith Kistler
USEF/EQUUS Foundation Humanitarian Award – American Saddlebred Horse Association Equine Welfare Committee
The Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit – Fern Bittner, Bruce Duchossois, Bazy Tankersley
Pegasus Medal of Honor – Francine Dismukes, David Distler, Mary Woolverton
The Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders Award – Tish Quirk
The Sallie Busch Wheeler Trophy – Bill Hughes 

Dominguez, Sweetnam and Torano Sweep ASPCA Maclay at Devon
Taylor Cawley & Oki D'Eclipse Take Top Honors Twice
Mars BHT GR 11 05 24
Badminton 2024: Powell and Greenacres Special Cavalier Claim Top Honors
Mars Badminton horse trials 2024
Badminton 2024: Price and Vitali Skyrocket to Top after Cross Country